Crucial Ballistix Tactical 32GB DDR4-3000 Memory Kit Review

Overclocking

Overclocking is never guaranteed so the presented results may vary from results on other memory kits. I am not recommending overclocking if you do not know what are you doing. High voltages may damage hardware and it will not be covered by warranty.

 

Overclocking results are not the best but most users don’t really have to overclock this memory. We couldn’t set fully stable DDR4-3200 but we were able to set tighter timings of CL14-15-15 at default 1.35V. Higher voltage wasn’t helping much the same as more relaxed timings.

3000 14-15-15 at 1.35V is still good, especially on Intel X99 platform. Below you can see results from HyperPi 32M and AIDA64.

tactical_32gb_3000_res3

Maximum frequency but not fully stable was DDR4-3333. Regardless if timings were 15-17-17 or 16-18-18, we couldn’t pass HyperPi 32M. I’m not sure if it’s something with memory or motherboard. I guess that our readers can have more luck so below is expected performance at DDR4-3200 which seems to be possible to stabilize.

 

tactical_32gb_3000_res1oc

Regardless of overclocking results, performance is good and all gamers will be satisfied. Performance after overclocking isn’t much better so it’s not always worth to waste time on settings that may cause issues. Crucial’s declared settings are providing full stability and high performance and that’s the most important.

 

Latest Headlines

Weekend Hardware Round Up 18th May 2019

PC & Computers
May 18, 2019 0
Here is this weeks Weekend Hardware Round Up 18th May 2019. Cases & Cooling: Aerocool Tor Review @ TechPowerUp SilverStone Precision PS15 Review @ Kitguru ...
About Bartosz Waluk 278 Articles
Bartosz Waluk aka Woomack is from Poland. He's been interested in computer hardware and extreme overclocking for over 15 years. Bartosz has also over 12 years experience in IT what includes sales, technical support and computer building ... but not only. He joined the Funky Kit team in January 2013.